Apartment Desirables

Standard

Happy Wednesday,

Since I signed my lease with Eileen during spring semester (read about my the adventures of me and my past/future roommate, Eileen, here) I have been mentally decorating my future apartment… constantly.  On pinterest.  Every single time I go in a store. While thrift shopping… It’s getting out of hand!  Today while shopping at a thrift store in Tyler, I made notes the whole time of things that I would love to decorate my apartment up with!  With a bit of inspiration from Jessica, author of Lovely Undergrad (check out her blog!), and my new-found love of spray paint, I’m hoping to get a few more crafts done before I have to head back to College Station!

BOOKENDS:
I just bought the entire Harry Potter Series in hardback off of Thriftbooks for less than $25… how cool is that? Now I need some cool way to display them, right? Ideally, I’d like to find some cheap bookends (look at these bird bookends! Aren’t they pretty?!) and re-finish them with this color spray paint:
Image
I’m dying to spray paint something this shade of blue to go with my pretty new green desk 🙂

I found the paint at Lowe’s– it’s Valspar Exotic Sea Spray for $3.98/can!  The bookends came from http://www.distinctive-decor.com/ and are $47.99… I’m just not willing to pay $50.00 for bookends yet, though… I’ll continue my bookend thrift shopping!

CHEST OF DRAWERS:
Image
This isn’t so much something that I want to decorate with– I actually need this… I’ve been searching high and low for a chest of drawers on Craigslist and in different thrift stores, but I just haven’t had any luck yet.    I pray mom will happen up on one like she did with my desk and surprise me with it! *hint-hint, mom!*  The one pictured above is from Ikea, and will be my last resort if I can’t find anything to re-finish soon.  I had originally planned to make it match my desk, unless of course I end up buying this beauty from Ikea.  I’d just leave this one alone!

KNICK-KNACK CHAIR

Image
My friend Holley (go read her blog heretakes a lot of pictures, and is constantly looking for props for her pictures.  She found this adorable little chair at Canton Trade Days and spray painted it yellow (a woman after my own heart, as far as spray paint goes!).  I’d love to have a little chair like this, or even a stool, to spray paint a bright color (maybe a pale yellow? Or lilac?) and set it in a corner of my room.  I know its sole purpose would be to collect my blankets and dirty clothes, and I’m okay with that…

So, off to bed I go, daydreaming about endless amounts of spray paint and knick knacks…

always,
Chaney

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Don’t Stop DIY-ing! « for the sake of a future

Leave a comment