life happens

Standard

It’s been quite sometime, and I feel like I’m losing my creative touch…
I actually have a week that isn’t dedicated to a “business law” book and an economics spiral, so I guess I’ll share a bit of my boring life with you:

This past weekend was parents’ weekend at Texas A&M University along with my sorority’s philanthropy fundraiser event–
Aggie Gamma Phi Crescent Classic raised money for Camp for All, all while offering barbecue, t-shirts, a concert lineup, and a bake sale to it’s patrons for a $10 ticket.   We had an amazing turnout this year!

My parents came out for that and reminded me of how comforting it is to have them around.  Sometimes I forget how much I miss home. 
The next day we passed up going to the A&M vs Baylor game to browse Houston.  (We did listen to A&M BTHO Baylor via radio, don’t you worry.)
I managed to find a dress to wear to my semi-formal in December, which is extremely exciting… for me at least.

Now to the good stuff…
I baked “Caramel Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting” for the Crescent Classic bake sale, and I’m pretty sure some boys fell in love with me after taking one bite… In fact, that was confirmed in a text message sent to one of my sorority sisters… sorry, bud. I’m taken.
So, for all of you who wish to win someone over by cupcakes alone, I have a recipe (partially from bits and pieces of stuff I found on pinterest, but mostly by my own experimentation…) that I used to make these lovely cupcakes. HERE GOES!
(and yes, I’m quite proud that I practically made this up on my own!)

-1 box of supermoist yellow cake mix
-1 can of pumpkin pie filling (you know the kind, “Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin”)
-Vanilla Extract (this is all pretty much to taste… I have no exact measurements)
-1 cup of Whipping Cream (get the heavy stuff)
-1.5 cups of powdered sugar
-16 oz. cream cheese
-1 jar of caramel sauce
AND THAT’S ALL YOU NEED! woah. let your mind be blown for a second.

–mix the box of cake mix with the can of pumpkin. I would definitely suggest using a mixer rather than a whisk or a spoon… it takes awhile to get the mixture to fold together.
–into this mixture add a few spoonfuls of caramel and a splash of vanilla. Like I said, I’m pretty much adapting this recipe from others that I have read, so I did all of this to personal taste.
–Spoon into cupcake liners (your mixture will be pretty thick, and because you have no raw eggs in it, it doesn’t hurt to taste test and see if you like how it tastes!) and bake as the box directs (350 degrees) for about 12 minutes… When these “cupcakes” are done, they will look more like cornbread or muffins and may brown a little bit on the top.
–While letting the cupcakes cool, I mixed the cream cheese, whipping cream, powdered sugar, and another splash or two of vanilla together to create the best cream cheese frosting everrrrrr. Seriously.
— Using the hanlde of a butter knife, I hollowed out my cupcake and poured the remaining caramel sauce into the center, creating a sticky caramel core! Make sure you don’t take out too much of the center of your cupcake. The caramel gets soaked up a little by your cupcake, so the hollowed out part doesn’t have to be huge. 
–I topped these off with my cream cheese icing (actually, my roomie Christina did, because she does frosting like a PRO) and then enjoyed one warm just to taste-test.

They’re delightful, if I may say so myself.

Leave a Reply

