Soundtrack

Standard

There’s something about music that falls into the “coffeehouse” genre that makes my mind wander and race… and at the same time it feels like I’m not thinking about anything at all.
The kind of music that is full of soul, and the meaningful lyrics twist and become meaningless as they wash over you and become your life soundtrack. Where you read into the lyrics and interpret the song differently than the person next to you. Depending on your mood, you find yourself smiling or crying over the same song, time after time.
Music that can be considered folk and blues and acoustic all at the same time- the kind of music that plays in the back of my mind when I’m in a pleasant mood, or a bad mood, or when I’m drifting off to sleep.
And as lame as this may seem, I picture myself in my future Dallas studio apartment- I’ll even be bold and say New York instead- with the rain sliding down the windows and the sounds of these songs resonating off the walls.
Don’t get me wrong- I love country music, and the angry, get back at someone-type rock music, and the occasional inappropriate rap song that is fun to sing along with. But I’d like to think that this other genre is a bit less discovered. Not mainstream by any means, but my little secret. Secret like the corner coffee shop that faithfully plays their albums.
And in my mind I have this ultimate playlist that encompasses every aspect of this perfect genre, but I’m too afraid to share it in it’s entirety because I like that it’s mine… I like to know that if my life were every interesting enough to have a movie made about it, that I could confidently name each song that I would want to represent each phase/event.
My list grows daily. A lot of it thanks to Michael. Some of it thanks to sirius acoustic coffeehouse radio, and another portion thanks to pandora and old limewire finds (before limewire was awful).
One day I hope to share this ultimate playlist– maybe while I’m blogging from my Italian leather sofa in my New York City high-rise studio apartment eating Chinese takeout.

Or maybe I finished reading “Something Borrowed” today and am a little obsessed with the idea of small-town girl gone big deal. Either way.

always,
Chaney

Leave a Reply

