Part II

Standard

Hi again 🙂
First, if you didn’t read my post, “Part I”, it would probably be best if you did, just because this is a continuation of that.  With that said, I’m just going to pick back up right where I left off. Enjoy!

  • “Open your mind, arms, and heart to new things and people.  We are united in our differences.”
    I just recently had an experience regarding this type of thing.  Next school year (fall 2011-spring 2012) I will be serving as a Freshman Business Initiative Peer Leader (a program that I participated in as a freshman that our business school offers).  The point of this program is to ease your freshman students into college and be a helping hand to them.  One of our lessons as peer leaders was over diversity.  Any student can tell you that they, “respect diversity” or “understand what it means to be different.”  Anyone can say, “To each his own.”  But do you ever truly understand it? Do you feel a little guilty when something “stupid” happens and you blurt out, “That’s gay!”? Are you ever worried that maybe some of these phrases that come up so frequently in the language of a college student might offend those around you? Think about that…
  • “Ask the next person you see what their passion is, and share your inspiring dream with them.”
    I hope, more than anything, that I will one day find my true passion in a career.  I love to cook. I love to be creative.  I love to organize, and I love people. I love, most of all, to surprise people.  That’s my passion. My dream? To impact someone’s life in a way that I will never even truly realize.  For my 19th birthday, one of my best friends, Marie Traylor, (I’m saying this because I don’t know if she’ll ever actually read this) gave me the copy of the essay that she wrote to get into Texas Tech University.  The reason that this essay was appropriate to give to me for my birthday is because it was about how I impacted her life in high school.  I remember she asked me not to read it in front of everyone, so in the car with Michael on the way home, I read it out loud and cried the happiest tears.  I cannot explain how much I cherish her as a friend, and she put that into the most perfect words.  Those are the moments that make up my dreams.  Other people’s dreams infatuate me.
    I have incredibly talented friends who want to do amazing things with their lives.  Shelby Taylor, for example, wants to be a music teacher.  She’s amazing with children.  She’ll make the perfect mother some day.  Holley Truitt’s passion is art, and with that she is doing great, amazing things at a very young age. I have a boyfriend that is amazing with photography but won’t admit it.  I would kill to have his eye.  My friends inspire me.
    I can only imagine how many more people would amaze me if I took the time to ask about their dreams.
  • “Travel often; getting lost will help you find yourself.”
    I love the feeling of driving on a road that I’ve never been on before.  I love the feeling of all the windows down and the radio up.  But that’s typical. Who doesn’t?
    I love the idea of one day walking up to an airport ticket counter, purchasing a roundtrip ticket for the next departing flight, and no matter where it’s going, hopping on a plane and seeing what I can make of my unknown destination. I’ll do that one day.  I don’t plan on College Station being the furthest I ever venture from Kilgore, Texas.
  • “Some opportunities only come once, seize them”
    Senior wills is something that we do in sorority for girls that are graduating.  At meetings towards the end of the semester when they are graduating, they will stand up and “will” to selected sisters something meaningful.  Some will love, some turn over the “head of the family”, and some will crazy items that represent inside jokes and old t-shirts.  One girl stood up at last weeks meeting and encouraged each girl to be as involved as possible.  She said something to the effect of, “that last minute studying the night before the test isn’t going to help that much.”  So when you skip that crush party or mixer to study, well, the memories that you could have made and the people you could have met in that 1-2 hours might have a greater outcome than looking over that vocabulary and checking your facebook.
    I’m all for sacrificing.  I’m all for “going all in”… Take that risk.
    If you would have met me freshman year in high school, you would’ve said, “no way. Not Chaney Barton.”
    But, yeah.  Do something crazy.  Have something to look back on and smile and say, “Man, you don’t even know…”
  • “Life is about the people you meet, and the things you create with them.  So go out and start creating.”
    I heard plenty of times during my college/high school transition that, “the friends you have in college will be life long.  The friends that you had in high school will go their separate ways.”
    Call me small-town.  Call me naive because I’ve only been gone from home for less than a year… but my high school friends still mean the world to me. Why? Because we put everything we had into our friendships.  We didn’t argue or fight.  We weren’t “off and on”… we weren’t shallow.  We made some of the best memories.  We made high school worth every mundane minute.  Without them, I’m not sure what my personality would even be.  We stay in touch.  And I love them, every last one of them, in a way that I cannot even describe.
    Now on to my college friends:
    I rushed so that I could meet girls… and I did… I met a lot of them! And maybe some of us are on the “what’s your major/where are you from?” level of conversation, but I have also met one of my best friends within my sorority.  I plan my wedding with Christina Tharp while she obsesses over engagement rings and “Say Yes to the Dress.” We ride together to every meeting. Like clockwork.  We sit and talk for hours about boys. About our boys.  We are future roommates, and to be perfectly honest, she will be one of my future bridesmaids/best girlfriends… And I cannot even imagine what it would be like if I hadn’t found that in someone.
    And lastly, there’s my roommate, Eileen.  We went from the awkward first week of school conversations to riding around College Station listening to rap music and getting lost trying to find wal-mart.  I was with her the night that she met her future roommate for the first time.  I put myself out there to meet new people, and it happens.  I don’t replace the old, familiar ones.  In fact, I miss them even more. I want them to know these new friends of mine.  I just create new opportunities. Every day.
  • “Life is short. Live your dream and wear your passion.”
    Let’s put this into perspective:
    I am 20 years old.  Let’s say I live to be 100. I am 1/5 of the way done with my life.
    I have not experienced 1/5 of the things that I want to experience. Not even close.
    Life is short… our lives here on earth, that is.
    There’s always the unfathomable idea of eternity… which makes the idea of life on earth being so short a little bit more bearable.
    All of that aside, I want to make the most of every minute. Why spend a day doing something that you hate.  Why not devote every minute of every day to something that you love with every fiber of your being?

As always, I’d love to hear what you think.

always,
Chaney

2 responses »

  1. Chaney, you are a wonderful writer. Some people blog just to be pretentious, but you put your heart out in your writing. I know that’s somewhat cheesy, but you’ve got a talent. I feel like I know you better everytime I read (Even though I’ve known you since middle school.band. Epic rock, paper, scissors.). Keep it up!

  2. Thanks so much, Noah! I’ve always liked to write, but I feel like now I can actually put it to use. Like I told someone the other day– we all tried blogging in middle school (myspace and xanga) and we see how well that went over! I’m glad to hear that you enjoy reading. Miss you (and our epic rock, paper scissors)
    🙂

Leave a Reply

