“Music Suggestion of the Day”

Standard

Hi,
I feel like last night’s post was a success, so why not try for round 2 on this whole blogging thing.  I mean, I recently added a journalism minor.  I should probably write stuff every now and then.
After seeing some hype over “The Civil Wars” on my friend, Shelby Taylor’s, facebook, I decided to check them out.  By the way, check out Shelby’s blog:

http://shelbytaylorphotography.wordpress.com/2011/03/

Along with an amazing music taste, she also has an amazing eye for photography.  🙂 So blessed to have her as a best friend.

After I discovered “The Civil Wars”, Shelby and I just started exchanging music suggestions via facebook comments… and it’s become one of my favorite parts of the day.  I have a super wide range of music taste… And I will seriously listen to any suggestion that I am given.  And most of the time, I like anything that has some kind of thought put into the lyrics.  So, I tried to put some categories to a few of my favorites.  Songs that, no matter your music taste, you should give a listen.  I hope that you don’t regret it.
always,
Chaney

I’m going to try to give credit where credit is due as far as who introduced me to the following songs:

Texas Country- If you only give one Texas Country song a chance in your lifetime, PLEASE make it be this one:
Electric Skies Josh Abbott Band

Rock- So, I’m not a very hardcore “rocker” by any means.  But, Michael did kind of get me to liking Staind… a lot, actually.  And he also got me addicted to one specific Staind song:
Epiphany Staind

The ex-boyfriend song- To every ex-boyfriend out there…
I’ve sang this song. In my car. Loudly. And directed all of my anger in your general direction. That’s what you all get. And deserve.
Gives You Hell The All-American Rejects

The Raunchy Song- If I had to pick my all-time favorite rap song… I mean, I could jam this EVERY day for the rest of my life (yes, 90 year old Chaney gettin’ down)…it would be this song. My daddy would be ashamed.
Shake It Like a Salt Shaker Ying Yang Twins

The Memory Flood Song- There’s one song that I have held on to for so many years for whatever sentimental value it holds. I can remember listening to it riding in a truck with Lincoln Vivion, my elementary best friend, and his parents.  He probably does not remember this day at all.  SEVERAL years later I was describing the song to my Nina, and she hunted down the artist and song, and ordered me the cd.  The song is on grooveshark.  I can almost guarantee that you’ve never heard it. So you should listen:
Marie Laveau Bobby Bare

The Song That Forever Reminds Me of My Dad- Before every softball game from about 4th grade to 8th grade, I’d drag out this old cd of my dad’s, stick it in the car, and listen to my “get pumped” song. He loved it. We’d sing along.  It made mom SO angry.  This is another one that if you are under 45, you’ve probably never heard.  Look it up 🙂
Walk Softly on this Heart of Mine The Kentucky Headhunters

The good-cry- Michael is the ultimate maker of mix cds.  He is also a musical genius.  He knows EXACTLY what songs I need to hear, and when I need to hear them… and there’s nothing better than putting one of his cds on shuffle and letting it surprise me.  The one song I cannot listen to without crying is one that he introduced to me a while back… and it’ll be a forever favorite.
Such Great Heights Iron and Wine

The Fond Memories- I only hope that Sarah Hunter will read this… Back in the day, she, her mother, and I, would JAM out in the expedition to some classics.  These consisted of “Magic Carpet Ride” (a favorite we will save for another day) and “Electric Avenue”… but there is one song that I will never associate with anyone other than Sarah and Barbara Hunter.  We made a nice trio
Amy Pure Prairie League

I think I’m calling it quits for the night, but I really hope you enjoyed hearing about some of the random songs that have made an impact on my life.  Go ahead, make your own list! Categorize your songs. I’d love to hear your suggestions!

2 responses »

  1. Awesome blog. I’ve been considering doing this myself but in a more hysterical manner. People tend to laugh at what I say sometimes. I’m not sure if that is a good thing yet, but we’ll find out

    Anyhoo, on a song suggestion, I’ve been repping my favorite band Yellowcard since about the 8th grade now, and recently they have came out with a new CD (When You’re Through Thinking, Say Yes).

    This is my favorite song of the new album. The lead singer’s aunt is terminally ill and he isn’t sure how much time she has left, so this song is being sung like she is talking to him. If you picture that while listening to the song, it adds to the greatness of the song. Also, if you like the song you should check out some of the other tracks from the new album.

    Enjoy!

  2. Thanks so much, Colton! You should really blog if you have something to say (and especially if you think that people will find it hilarious!) I feel like college gives me a LOT more to talk about than if I would’ve ever tried doing this in high school. (Actually, everyone tried doing it in high school. It was called, “myspace”… you see how that went over lol)

    Anyways, this is a BEAUTIFUL song!! After knowing the story behind it, you can’t help but get teary. Thanks for showing it to me! The only Yellowcard song I really know is “Only One”… and I absolutely love it! I will definitely be checking out some more of their stuff!

    Also, Michael showed me this song that’s rather appropriate for our whole College Station vs. East Texas long distance relationship thing that we have going. I told Cassie about it a while back. If you haven’t heard it, you should! It’s relate-able:
    “Dare 4 Distance” Never Shout Never

    enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

